nomadhs.blogg.se

What is turbo boost ghz
What is turbo boost ghz










  1. WHAT IS TURBO BOOST GHZ FULL
  2. WHAT IS TURBO BOOST GHZ PRO
  3. WHAT IS TURBO BOOST GHZ SOFTWARE

Still, I can see that Turbo Boost is far more than just a marketing tool.

WHAT IS TURBO BOOST GHZ SOFTWARE

It's hard to say since I'm using four unrelated apps, none of the software I'm using is designed exclusively to test the processor (with the exception of IPG), and I'm just running it on a typical rMBP with who-knows-what running in the background. I've yet to see the clock speed go all the way up to 3.7 GHz with only one core running, I've never even seen just one core running, they seem to run in pairs. I got the # cores vs clock frequency data from the Intel web site. Intel Power Gadget to show the clock frequency and power consumption graphs and smcFanControl to display the CPU temp.

WHAT IS TURBO BOOST GHZ PRO

I've been using TechTool Pro 7.0.2 to watch the actual cores, or MenuMeters to see each thread. I'll check primate labs in a bit for a new version. I JUST downloaded GB v3.0.0 (3244, 12880 result) and have found it to be a bit buggy. It also runs like this when I'm running and processing 8 data streams at once.

WHAT IS TURBO BOOST GHZ FULL

The CPU temp is at 100C° with the fans running at full speed. All 4 cores are running at 3.40 to 3.50 GHz and the CPU power usage is varying between roughly 47 Watts and 50.5 Watts. I'm currently doing a video conversion and the CPU is really cranking away. It will do 3.7 GHz with 1 core, 3.6 GHz with 2 and 3.5 GHz when 3 or 4 cores are running, On the other hand if the current task is more demanding, the clock speed can increase up to 1000 MHz over the nominal speed depending on the number of cores in use.

what is turbo boost ghz

If my computer is idling and just a few background tasks are running, the clock speed can drop to 1.7 to 2.2 GHz and the power used by the CPU is in the single digits, ~5-7 Watts. Apparently the 2.7 GHz rating is simply a nominal rating and has little to do what is actually happening at any given time. Using Intel Power Gadget I can monitor the clock speed and the power usage. On my particular processor, a 4 core i7 3820QM, the clock speed is listed as 2.7 GHz. Provided you stick to Intel's design guidelines for software and hardware (heat sinks!), I cannot imagine why you would ever want turbo-boost disabled. (I could well be wrong about this and would appreciate feedback if I am.)

what is turbo boost ghz

Given this, a system that keeps itself in turbo-boost mode, despite dangerously high CPU temperatures, sounds like it was written by someone who's incompetent. This really puzzled me, so I went a-googling and found this page, which describes a turbo-boosted Microsoft/Intel system that overheated when running some game.Īll Intel i5 and i7 processors have hardware sensors, that (when used properly) warn the BIOS or EFI when the CPU is overheating.

what is turbo boost ghz

If minimising power consumption is a primary concern (say, for laptops or in server farms) why would you buy a more expensive, turbo-boostable CPU, and then disable turbo-boosting, when you could buy a cheaper, lower-speed CPU, without the turbo-boosting ability, in the first place? Surely the more interesting question is why you would ever want to disable turbo-boost! Why are you wanting to use turbo boost? " Mleep: "On non-apple products you would changes these setting in the bios.












What is turbo boost ghz